(818) 552-4503

Angara to senator-elect son: ‘Do the best you can’

Comment: Off
Juan Edgardo Angara (photo courtesy of www.ivoteph.com)

Juan Edgardo Angara (photo courtesy of www.ivoteph.com)

MANILA (Mabuhay) – Outgoing Senator Edgardo Angara, the longest serving senator in the post-EDSA Senate, has a piece of advice to senator-elect son Juan Edgardo ‘Sonny’ Angara: ‘Do the best you can in your job as senator.”

Angara made this advice moments before the Commission on Elections (Comelec) en banc, sitting as national board of canvassers, proclaimed the initial six of the 12 winning senators last Thursday at the Philippine International Convention Center.

”The next job will take care of you if you will do a good job as a senator,” Angara said when asked by the media what advice he could give to his son.

Angara described his son strong showing in the last May 13 elections as “quiet unexpected.”

”We are really confident that he will win. Our estimate was he will rank 7 or 9. And No. 6 is quiet unexpected and we’re very happy,” Angara said.

While the younger Angara won his first six-year mandate as senator, his father is set to graduate from the Senate which he served for four consecutive terms of six years each.

Throughout his long and storied career as a legislator, Angara advocated for legislation that made a direct impact on the lives of millions of Filipinos.

Angara, a former president of the University of the Philippines, authored landmark laws on agriculture, education, health, arts and culture, science and technology, good governance, financial reforms and social welfare.

Like Angara, his senator-elect son has also long experience as legislator having served as representative of the lone district of Aurora province in Congress for three consecutive terms.

The young Angara sponsored and authored 253 and co-authored 134 bills at the House of Representatives.

Aside from Sonny Angara, other newly-proclaimed senators are fellow neophytes Grace Poe and Nancy Binay and reelectionists Loren Legarda, Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero and Alan Cayetano.

The Comelec is expected to proclaiming the remaining six winning senators by Saturday. (MNS)

About the Author

Related Posts